Tagged: Second Life

Games and Virtual Worlds for Serious Applications


VS-Games 2009
VS-Games 2009

Today is day 2 of the ‘VS Games ’09 Games and Virtual Worlds for Serious Applications Conference hosted by the Serious Games institute. The event is available online in two places.  If you have a SL avatar and the inclination, you can attend via the Serious Games Institute’s Virtual Auditorium in Second Life at:

http://slurl.com/secondlife/SGI%20Nexus/96/107/27

If you prefer a more low-key, incognito approach there’s a live stream available on the Serious Games Institute website at:

http://www.seriousgamesinstitute.co.uk

Due to some technical glitches I missed Nottingham’s Prof. Steve Benford this morning, however, I’m hoping to catch two presentations from the Health and Cultural Heritage strand this afternoon:

13:50 – 14:15 GMT (06:50 – 07:15 SLT) ‘Serious Games for Upper Limb Rehabilitation Following Stroke’ by Burke, McNeill, Charles, Morrow, Crosbie, McDonough.

14:15 – 14:40 GMT (07:15 – 07:40 SLT) ‘A Sensory Gate-Ball Game for the Aged People and its User Interface Design’ by J. Kim, Kang, Yang, D. Kim.

The event is sponsored by BECTA and the Association for Learning Technology amongst others. For those who are interested in finding out more, or adopting a more lo-fi approach, please note that the proceedings will be published by IEEE*.  Select papers will also be published in one of two international Journals: Visual Computer and the British Journal of Educational Technology.  More details are available via the Serious Games Institute.

*The I.E. Who? In their own words, the IEEE name was originally an acronym for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Today, the organization’s scope of interest has expanded into so many related fields, that it is simply referred to by the letters I-E-E-E (pronounced Eye-triple-E).